Islamic concepts

Fiqh — (study of) the rules system of Islam

deep understanding of the way of life

فقه Traditionally translated as ‘Islamic jurisprudence’, the Arabic word Fiqh literally means ‘thorough understanding’. Fiqh is the field of study that examines the rules of Islam, the divinely received code of conduct, which we can derive from the Qurʾān and Sunnah.

Fiqh deals with the dos and don’ts of:

  • ritual life: how to pray, how to fast, etc.
  • worldly life: our physical actions in society, financial transactions, etc.

An expert in Fiqh, a rules lawyer of Islam, is called a Faqih.

In traditional Islam, there are five major schools of thought on how to derive Fiqh rulings (four Sunnī and one .

Mainstream Sunni Islam recognizes four [[Madhhab|

Fiqh (Arabic: فقه‎ [fiqh]) is Islamic jurisprudence. Fiqh is an expansion of the code of conduct (Sharia) expounded in the Quran, often supplemented by tradition (Sunnah) and implemented by the rulings and interpretations of Islamic jurists. Fiqh deals with the observance of rituals, morals and social legislation in Islam. There are four prominent schools (madh'hab) of fiqh within Sunni practice and two within Shi'a practice. A person trained in fiqh is known as a Faqih (plural Fuqaha).[1]

The discipline by which scholars derive educated opinions on the rules of Islam from the Qurʾān and the sayings of the Prophet Muḥammad (ḥadīth).

explain in detail